History » History


Theodore Roosevelt High School is an educational institution (grades 9-12) located in the Boyle Heights area of Los Angeles, CA and named for the 26th president of the United States.
Roosevelt is a public school in the Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) with an enrollment of 1,200, not including the Math, Science and Technology Magnet Technology Academy (MSTMA), which is a separate school on the campus. Previously Roosevelt was one of the largest high schools in the country, but two new public high schools have relieved overcrowding. Up until the 2009-2010 school year, Roosevelt followed a year-round calendar. In 2008, the school started to be managed by the Partnership for Los Angeles Schools.
Our school colors are cardinal red, gold, and blue. The mascot is Teddy the Bear, and our sport teams are known as the Rough Riders. The school’s motto is “Don’t flinch, don’t foul, hit the line hard!” a Theodore Roosevelt quote.
Roosevelt High School is part of the Boyle Heights Zone of Choice, which also includes Mendez High School, and STEM Academy of Boyle Heights.


The East L.A. Classic is the homecoming game for Roosevelt High School and Garfield High School. The Classic has taken place since a few years after the opening of the two schools, with the exception of the Depression and World War II. The Classic brings out alumni from all parts of the world, usually fielding 20,000 people per game and has been held at the East Los Angeles College at the Weingart Stadium, although it has been held at the The Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum.